Dr. Gene D. Cohen Research Award in Creativity and Aging


Apply or Nominate Someone for the Gene D. Cohen Research Award in Creativity and Aging!



The Gene D. Cohen Award, sponsored by the National Center for Creative Aging (NCCA), recognizes and honors the seminal work of Dr. Gene Cohen, whose research in the field of creativity and aging has shifted the conceptual focus from a problem paradigm to one of promise and potential. Dr. Cohen has inspired us to approach longevity asking what wonders can be achieved, not in spite of age, but because of age. The award is presented annually to a professional whose research in the field of creativity and aging demonstrates these positive attributes.


  • Presented annually at the GSA Annual Scientific Meeting at the Arts and Humanities Reception, the award consists of the following:
  • Travel and lodging (limit to $1,000) to attend the GSA Annual Scientific Meeting
  • GSA Annual Scientific Meeting Registration
  • A program profile included in GSA's Annual meeting Program, which will be distributed to attendees and postedon the ASA website.
  • Recognition on the NCCA website
  • Recognition by peers at an awards presentation
  • Press release

Award nomination is open to any individual who has produced research that demonstrates the benefits of creativity in arts including but not limited to visual arts, music, dance, drama, writing and multi media. Nominees should demonstrate leadership and contributions in the field of creativity and aging through research.



  • A formal nomination letter
  • A brief statement (maximum 500 words) detailing how the nominee meets the criteria of the award
  • Research Abstract
  • Peer review articles or other related documents
  • Up to 2 letters of support

In order to nominate someone for the Gene D. Cohen Award in Creativity and Aging, please send your nomination packet to awards@geron.org with the subject of  “Gene D. Cohen Award Nomination – NOMINEE NAME HERE.” Please remember to substitute your nominee’s name in the subject.

Past Award Receipients 

Dr. Nina Kraus - 2013
Read More>

Dr. Bruce Miller - 2012
Read More>

Dr. Barry Bittman - 2011
Read More>

Drs. Helga and Tony Noice - 2010
Read More>